Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Excerpt
hiddentrue

A service mesh is a configurable infrastructure layer for a microservices application. It makes communication between service instances flexible, reliable, and fast. This page gathers resources on service mesh architecture, examples an the Istio project.

Master wrapper
PageTypeTopic
Service Mesh
Promoted link


Trw section section
headh1
titlePerspectives on Service Mesh
List wrapper
List item
L;nginx.com;What Is a Service Mesh?;https://www.nginx.com/blog/what-is-a-service-mesh/;NA;;;
List item
L;blog.buoyant.io;What's a Service Mesh? And Why do I Need One?;https://blog.buoyant.io/2017/04/25/whats-a-service-mesh-and-why-do-i-need-one/;NA;;;
List item
L;thenewstack.io;The History of the Service Mesh;https://thenewstack.io/history-service-mesh/;NA;;;
List item
L;avinetworks.com;What is a Service Mesh for Microservices and Containers;https://avinetworks.com/what-are-microservices-and-containers/;NA;;;
List item
L;redhat.com;What's a Service Mesh?;https://www.redhat.com/en/topics/microservices/what-is-a-service-mesh;NA;;;
List item
L;blog.codeship.com;An Overview of the Service Mesh and Its Tooling Options;https://blog.codeship.com/an-overview-of-the-service-mesh-and-its-tooling-options/;NA;;;
List item
L;blog.christianposta.com;How a Service Mesh Can Help With Microservices Security;http://blog.christianposta.com/how-a-service-mesh-can-help-with-microservices-security/;NA;;;
Trw section section
headh1
titleService Mesh Architecture
List wrapper
List item
L;banyanops.com;Why a Service Mesh Architecture is the Ideal Way to Deliver Zero Trust and BeyondCorp Security;https://banyanops.com/blog/why-service-mesh/;NA;;;
List item
L;aspenmesh.io;What Service Mesh Architecture Should I Pick?;https://aspenmesh.io/2018/03/service-mesh-architectures/;;;;
List item
L;dzone.com;Comparing Service Mesh Architectures;https://dzone.com/articles/comparing-service-mesh-architectures;NA;;;
List item
L;dotnetvibes.com;The Rise of Service Mesh Architecture;https://dotnetvibes.com/2018/07/02/the-rise-of-service-mesh-architecture/;NA;;;
Trw section section
headh1
titleIstio Service Mesh
List wrapper
List item
L;datadoghq.com;Monitor your Istio service mesh with Datadog;https://www.datadoghq.com/blog/monitor-istio-with-datadog/;;;;
List item
L;dzone.com;The Kubernetes Service Mesh: A Brief Introduction to Istio;https://dzone.com/articles/the-kubernetes-service-mesh-a-brief-introduction-t;;;;
List item
L;computerworlduk.com;What is Istio?;https://www.computerworlduk.com/open-source/what-is-istio-latest-open-source-project-out-of-google-3681599/;;;;
List item
L;cloud.google.com;The Service Mesh Era: Using Istio and Stackdriver to Build an SRE Service;https://cloud.google.com/blog/products/devops-sre/the-service-mesh-era-using-istio-and-stackdriver-to-build-an-sre-service
List item
L;revolgy.com;Istio Service Mesh on Kubernetes;https://www.revolgy.com/blog/istio-service-mesh-on-kubernetes;NA;;;
List item
L;infoworld.com;The Rise of the Istio Service Mesh;https://www.infoworld.com/article/3273547/containers/the-rise-of-the-istio-service-mesh.html;NA;;;
List item
L;redmonk.com;So what even is a Service Mesh? Hot take on Istio and Linkerd;https://redmonk.com/jgovernor/2017/05/31/so-what-even-is-a-service-mesh-hot-take-on-istio-and-linkerd/;NA;;;

See more resources on Istio

Trw section section
headh1
titleCase Studies
List wrapper
List item
L;mailgun.com;How Mailgun Manages Service Mesh Routes with Vulcand and Nginx;https://www.mailgun.com/blog/how-and-why-we-adopted-service-mesh-with-vulcand-and-nginx;NA;;;
Trw section section
headh1
titleSpecific Technologies
List wrapper
List item
L;hackernoon.com;5 Steps to Bring CoolStore’s Service Mesh to Azure Kubernetes Service (AKS);https://hackernoon.com/5-steps-to-bring-coolstores-service-mesh-to-azure-kubernetes-service-aks-9cd1a5aa008a;NA;;;
List item
L;akomljen.com;Kubernetes Service Mesh;http://akomljen.com/kubernetes-service-mesh/;NA;;;
List item
L;searchcloudcomputing.techtarget.com;How AWS, Azure and Google Approach Service Mesh Technology;;;;
List item
L;docs.openshift.com;Red Hat OpenShift Service Mesh Overview and Installation;https://docs.openshift.com/container-platform/3.10/servicemesh-install/servicemesh-install.html;NA;;;
List item
L;cloudtp.com;Istio - A Service Mesh to Modernize Kubernetes Networking and Security;https://www.cloudtp.com/doppler/istio-a-service-mesh-to-modernize-kubernetes-networking-and-security/;NA;;;

Anchor
further_reading
further_reading

Further Reading

Further reading

Children Display
pageContainer Architecture
excerptTypesimple

Cta item
resourceID001


Cta item
resourceID002


Cta item
resourceID003